Marvel Phase 4: Upcoming Movies in Order of Release

Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase 4

Despite all the madness currently engulfing the world, we've still got a thrilling slate of Marvel movies to look forward to in the coming months and years.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is about to enter its Phase 4 stage, so stay on top of what's coming with our blog list of the upcoming films in order of release.

1. Black Widow

What is the story of Black Widow?

In between the events of Captain America: Civil War and Avengers: Infinity War, Avengers team member Natasha Romanoff takes a journey back into her past. She returns to Soviet Russia to confront her own history, the history that turned her into a feared and deadly assassin.

She then comes face to face with the deadly Taskmaster, who can imitate the abilities of all those around him. Taskmaster is training a squadron of assassins within the mysterious 'Red Room', with which Natasha is familiar. She must team up with her extended family to take Taskmaster down. The director is Cate Shortland, who helmed claustrophobic thriller Berlin Syndrome, starring Teresa Palmer.

Who stars in Black Widow?

Scarlett Johansson reprises her role as Black Widow/Natasha Romanoff, in an origin story that takes us back to the time before her death in Avengers: Endgame.

Johansson is joined by Little Women Oscar nominee Florence Pugh as Natasha's 'sister' Yelena Belova, while The Favourite's Rachel Weisz plays operative Melina Vostokoff. And Stranger Things' David Harbour portrays the Russian equivalent of Captain America, Alexei Shostakov aka Red Guardian.

When is Black Widow released in cinemas?

Black Widow is released on the 6th of November.

2. Eternals

What is the story of Eternals?

The exact plot is to be confirmed, but Eternals will center on the eponymous beings, a group of all-powerful, humanoid aliens created by an ancient race known as the Celestials.

According to a Collider article, the movie will span over 7,000 years, and introduce the war between the Eternals and their enemies, the Deviants. The film is directed by Chloe Zhao, who scored a major critical hit in 2018 with moving indie drama The Rider.

Who stars in Eternals?

Maleficent's Angelina Jolie portrays Thena, a warrior member of the Eternals. She's joined by The Big Sick's Kumail Nanjiani as Kingo, Humans' Gemma Chan as Sersi,  Widows' Brian Tyree Henry as Phastos, Frida's Salma Hayek as Ajak and Dunkirk's Barry Keoghan as Druig.

Meanwhile, Game Of Thrones' Kit Harington plays human character Dane Whitman.

When is Eternals released in cinemas?

Eternals is released on the 12th of February 2021.

The cast of Marvel movie Eternals at Comic-Con


3. Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings

What is the story of Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings?

Again unknown, but Shang-Chi will make MCU history by being the first movie in the series to be centered on an Asian character. The titular Shang-Chi is a revered martial artist, proficient in numerous fighting styles and also adept with weaponry.

The film will re-introduce the character of the dreaded Mandarin, previously portrayed (to controversial effect) by Ben Kingsley in 2013's Iron Man 3.

Who stars in Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings?

Canadian-Chinese actor and stuntman Simu Liu portrays Shang-Chi. Noted performer Tony Leung, famous for Wong Kar-wai's atmospheric In The Mood For Love, will play The Mandarin.

When is Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings released in cinemas?

Kevin Feige with Shang-Chi director Destin Daniel Cretton and star Simu Liu at Comic-Con


4. Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness

What is the story of Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness?

The story-line is cloaked in mystery, but it has recently been confirmed that Evil Dead and Spider-Man helmer Sam Raimi will be directing the movie. He takes over from the first film's Scott Derrickson, who departed over "creative differences".

The movie is being billed as the first proper horror movie in the MCU, so that would appear to be in Raimi's ballpark. We can surely expect to see many more of the weird, wondrous and terrifying dimensions teased in the first Doctor Strange movie.

Who stars in Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness?

Benedict Cumberbatch reprises his role as the Sorcerer Supreme, an arrogant neurosurgeon turned superhero. Strange foresaw the impossible odds of defeating Thanos  (Josh Brolin) at the end of Avengers: Infinity War, crumbling into dust in front of Iron Man's (Robert Downey Jr.) eyes.

However, Strange and the rest of the Avengers were triumphantly resurrected for the final battle in Avengers: Endgame.

When is Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness released in cinemas?

The Doctor Strange sequel is released on the 5th of November 2021.

5. Thor: Love And Thunder

What is the story of Thor: Love And Thunder?

We only know the most general details, namely, that Jane Foster from the first two Thor movies will return to lift hammer Mjolnir. She will, effectively, become the new incarnation of Thor, who has himself taken off across the galaxy with the Guardians. Meanwhile, the new King of Asgard, Valkyrie, will be searching for a Queen to rule by her side.

Taika Waititi is back as director, having galvanised the Thor character with 2017's riotously entertaining Thor: Ragnarok.

Who stars in Thor: Love And Thunder?

Chris Hemsworth returns as Thor, alongside Natalie Portman as Jane and Tessa Thompson as Valkyrie. In March, Thompson confirmed that former Batman Christian Bale will be playing the film's villain.

When is Thor: Love And Thunder released in cinemas?

The Thor fourquel (Thor-quel?) is released on the 18th of February 2022.



Which Marvel Phase 4 movie are you most excited about seeing? Let us know @RegalMovies.